Five Outstanding Individuals Recognised in the 2023 ANZGOG Awards

30 Mar 2023

During the conference dinner at last week's ANZGOG 2023 Annual Scientific Meeting, five individuals were acknowledged for their significant efforts in improving outcomes for women with gynaecological cancer.

Join us in congratulating these outstanding members of ANZGOG's community for the work they do to enable women with gynaecological cancer to live better and live longer. #TogetherWeCan


Winner: Duncan McPherson OAM

The award identifies an outstanding community volunteer who goes above and beyond to improve outcomes for women affected by gynaecological cancer.

Duncan, Patron of Team Teal, has been a driving force in the campaign, enabling it to raise over $2.5 million since its inception. These funds are crucial in enabling ANZGOG's Survivors Teaching Students program to continue educating future doctors about research, symptoms, and lived experiences of women affected by gynaecological cancer.

Duncan was also a part of last year's WomenCan Larapinta Trek, raising much-needed funds for ANZGOG's research.

He continues to be a formidable advocate for ANZGOG, WomenCan, and gynaecological cancer research.

Michael Friedlander AM Award

Winner: Dr Nikki Burdett

This award recognises Dr Burdett as an emerging early career researcher for 2023. She is considered one of the future leaders of ANZGOG. 

Research Pioneer Award

Winner: Professor David Bowtell

Congratulations to Prof Bowtell, who has consistently led innovation in ovarian cancer research both locally and globally and is immensely deserving of this award.

Clinical Trial Achievement Award

Winner: Professor Linda Mileshkin

Long-standing ANZGOG member Prof Mileshkin won this award, acknowledging the practice changing research she has led over the years.

Outstanding Clinical Trial Site Award

Winner: Newcastle Private Trials Unit

Newcastle Private Trials Unit received this accolade for their clinical trial coordination and outstanding recruitment in ANZGOG trials.